From Accessories to Denim

Hello Fashionistas! Sorry I’ve been M.I.A for awhile. August has been a month of change. I said my final goodbyes to the place where I started my fashion career after I graduated college. After two years spent with Kleinfeld Bridal, I twirled in my last Christian Siriano gown and  said “cut” to my Say Yes to the Dress days. It was a magical two years playing dress up in feathery, sparkly, and colorful $10,000 gowns, putting princess tiaras on my head, and designing with designers from Jimmy Choo and Sarah Jessica Parker herself.

Before moving on to my next journey, I decided to take some time off to go home for about a week and a half where I had the chance to escape the fast lane of hailing cabs, honking horns, and crowded streets to go back to the quiet hills with starry nights. And of course lots of shopping, pool days, and reading in the hammock. I needed some time away from the city, and quality time with my family.


When it was finally time for me to take my hour flight back to the Concrete Jungle, I had one day left to prepare for the next chapter in my career. Drum roll please! I accepted a position with New York & Company’s corporate office as an Assistant Merchant working in Downtown Denim and Casual Bottoms.


I’ll admit I’m not very good when it comes to change, but I am very excited for this new journey of frayed hems, embroidery, and boyfriend vs girlfriend jeans. If there’s one word of advice I could give you fashionistas, it is to always step out of your comfort zone to learn more about an industry that gives you so much passion. Take every opportunity that comes your way, and learn something from it. Wish me luck on my second week! Xoxo. 

Leave a comment