A Whole New World

With so much changing this past month, it was nice to take a night off to enjoy the entertainment New York City has to offer that I quickly forget about with all of the hustle and bustle in the streets of NYFW. Thanks to my mom, she treated me and my boyfriend to a date night to the Broadway Musical that I have been dying to see and so desperately needed, Disney’s Aladdin! 

Every little girl grew up watching Disney princess fairy tales and dreamed of becoming their favorite princess-finding their handsome prince, flying on magic carpets, and rubbing a lamp to make all your wishes come true.  My favorite Princess and fave street rat has always been Jasmine and Aladdin. 

I don’t want to give away any spoiler alerts, BUT I will say this show was nothing short of spectacular! James Monroe Iglehart killed it in his performance as the Genie keeping me laughing through every scene with his witty comments and his empowering vocals. This show is a must see! And be on the look out for my two favorite scenes: when Aladdin rubs the magic lamp to set the Genie free and obviously the hopeless romantic in me loves the magic carpet ride with Aladdin and Jasmine singing “A Whole New World” soaring over the starry night. 

Don’t forget it’s Broadway Week until the 18th! Two for one tickets! 

Leave a Reply

